The fatal hit and run accident that killed a Wisconsin bicyclist over the weekend has led to a suspect who is now in police custody who may be facing felony hit and run charges.
Leaving the scene of a car accident – hit and run – is a crime in Wisconsin.
If you are involved in an accident where no one is injured, leaving the scene may result in a misdemeanor charge that may include up to 6 months in jail and a fine. Even when a motor vehicle accident results in only property damage, Wisconsin residents are required to stop.
If a driver leaves a scene where someone is injured, the consequences are more serious. Hit and run accidents where someone has sustained minor injuries is typically charged as a Class a misdemeanor resulting in up to nine months in jail and up to a $10,000 fine.
If someone suffered great bodily harm and a driver flees the scene (hit and run), he or she may be charged with a felony translating into over a decade in prison and tens of thousands in fines. If an accident results in a fatality, penalties increase.
Hit and run accidents occur when a driver is involved in an accident with another motorist, a pedestrian, a bicyclist or even a fixed object. If a driver leaves the scene of even a minor incident without providing identification they may be in violation of the law.
Felony hit a run involves with a driver leaves the scene of an accident in which a driver or pedestrian is hurt with the possible exception of when they temporarily leave the scene to seek emergency help.
If you left the scene of a car accident and are now facing misdemeanor or felony charges, it is important to seek the help of an experienced criminal defense lawyer. Contact Waukesha criminal defense lawyer Andrew C. Ladd for help today at 262-542-3900.