A Wisconsin massage therapist has been charged with two counts of fourth degree sexual assault after two clients complained about inappropriate touching during their appointments. When the police were alerted the masseuse was arrested on the scene.
In Wisconsin there are four degrees of sexual assault:
Wisconsin first degree sexual assault
1st Wisconsin sexual assault is a Class B felony and generally includes acts of sexual contact or sexual intercourse with another person without consent and causes pregnancy or great bodily harm to that person; non-consensual acts by use or threat of use of a dangerous weapon or the like; or the same non-consensual acts aided or abetted by one or more other persons by use or threat of force or violence.
Wisconsin second degree sexual assault
2nd degree sexual assault is a Class C felony where sexual contact or intercourse occurs without consent by use of threat or force where such an act causes injury, illness, disease or impairment, or mental anguish requiring attention; or non-consensual acts are committed on someone unable to provide consent or is in a subordinate position such as a patient receiving care or treatment in a facility or program.
Wisconsin third degree sexual assault
3rd degree sexual assault is a Class G felony and can include sexual contact or intercourse without consent of the person.
Wisconsin fourth degree sexual assault
4th degree sexual assault may be charged as a Class A misdemeanor where consent is in question. In other words, someone must be competent or otherwise in a position to provide informed consent.
Wisconsin penalties for the various degrees of sexual assault felonies are as follows:
Class B felony – imprisonment not to exceed 60 years.
Class C felony – a fine not to exceed $100,000 or imprisonment not to exceed 40 years, or both.
Class G felony – a fine not to exceed $25,000 or imprisonment not to exceed 10 years, or both.
Penalties for misdemeanors are as follows:
Class A misdemeanor – a fine not to exceed $10,000 or imprisonment not to exceed 9 months, or both.
Contact an Experienced Team of Wisconsin Sexual Assault Attorneys for Help
If you or a family member is facing charges of sexual assault, contact the Waukesha Wisconsin criminal defense lawyers of Andrew C. Ladd LLC for assistance today at 262-542-3900.